Home > Uncategorized > Are You There God? It’s Me, Blog.

Are You There God? It’s Me, Blog.

Are we all alone? Blogging has been great for me. It has opened my eyes to new things to read online, new communities to join, and ultimately, new ideas that are growing inside my mind about lots of different things – and the dedication that it takes to share these things with the world.

The only problem I have found with blogging so far, is that I have the distinct feeling that I am sometimes (not always, thanks commentators!) talking to nobody. I am out in the abyss of blogging, where many float but few take root.

That may sound a little bit dramatic, but it is what makes blogging challenging. Everyone can have a blog (everyone with internet access and a little bit of time), but everyone doesn’t keep it up. In my career, the total number of blogs started has been five, including this one.

I had one just about Yoga, one about people who help the world, one about sustaining Africa, and one about how I didn’t really know how to use a blog. None of them lasted for longer than a month, tops.

I think this had a lot to do with the fact that I was only discussing them with my husband. As thrilling as that is, I was really interested in these so-called “other readers” that exist out there in cyberspace. There were supposed to be millions, right? I hadn’t attracted so much as three.

Now, with my relatively recent involvement in Brazen Careerist, I have discovered that many people blog without expecting much of an audience – and the reverse also happens. We blog not wanting an audience, and then sometimes get one. The internet is so funny this way.

Ultimately, what I have learned from Brazen is the fact that marketing is a huge part of blogging as a serious entity. If you blog about the adventures of cat, dog, and kids, maybe marketing doesn’t need to be in your plans. But if you are like me, and you want to hear other people’s view on a variety of topics – and hopefully succeed in helping people in the world, an audience is crucial.

I am thankful that for the most part, I feel content with whatever audience life brings me that day. Yes, there are those times when I look at the WordPress.com stats, and feel sad that no one really knew what I had to say on that afternoon, but I keep trying.

Learning about the process requires a lot of shouts into the dark, but the most can be learned, I think, when you study your own voice.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 16, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Hi Beth. Just wanted to pop in and say that you weren’t “talking to nobody” on this one – I read it, and liked it! I know exactly what you are talking about though…you probably put a lot of time into posts, and it is disappointing when few people take the time to read them (something I bet every single blogger goes through).

    Keep at it, though! I look forward to reading more from you, and I’m sure there are others out there too.

    • bethoc
      November 16, 2009 at 1:00 pm

      Thanks, Ryan! I just finished your personal branding tips and loved them. I’m glad we’ve connected 🙂

  2. Sam
    November 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    I am totally with you on this one! I write for myself, first and foremost, but I also want my words to reach people and I want them to connect with what I have to say. Ryan’s right, every blogger goes through this, and usually more than once. It seems like you realize that it just takes time and patience, and that’s a great start. You just have to decide what your goals are, and then find realistic ways to achieve them. I think you’ve got a great thing going here, and I’m so happy to connect with you!

  3. Celso
    November 16, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Hello. I am one of those who read you blog everyday and i am always waiting for new entries. I myself had a blog and did stop writing maybe for the same reasons. It looked like there was nobody reading what I was putting on the webworld. But the reality is, that there is always someone reading and waiting to read new materials.

    You are an inspiration to me. I have to get my blog ON again…

  4. November 18, 2009 at 2:15 am

    People share the same aspirations Beth. Write something that is common to all people, this way they can respond to you. In my blog, I write about some facts of life we all face and I try to suggest something that may be of help.

    Be yourself, allow your uniqueness, and learn how to touch peoples heart. Don’t give up Beth. Learn and evolve.

    • bethoc
      November 18, 2009 at 11:48 am

      Thanks, Walter! I really appreciate the kind words 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

