Home > Economics, Technology > I-Phone: Friend or Foe?

I-Phone: Friend or Foe?

iphone My husband was one of the first people to get the I-Phone. Why? Well, he wasn’t exactly my husband at the time. He was my boyfriend and I really wanted to get him a good birthday gift – about 2 months early.

We hadn’t even been together that long, and at the time, the phone was a whopping $400. It was nearly my entire paycheck at the time. What was I thinking? I have no idea. Love does tricky things to technology and gift decisions. Sigh.

Either way, he enjoyed it and pretty soon I wanted one. I bought myself one a few months later, and we both upgraded to the 3G version soon after that. All of a sudden, something happened.

An epiphany. Suddenly he didn’t want the phone anymore, and decided to sell it when we went to visit his parents in Africa. In Mozambique, an I-Phone can sell for approximately $1,000. So we sold the phone and he came back and bought the free Nokia that usually comes with a new contract. In fact, it is so low maintenance that he can’t really send messages. And he doesn’t really care.

Was this a lobotomy? Was it just a change of heart? Did he suddenly get Zen? Who knows. All I know is that all of a sudden, I was the one with the huge cell phone bill (not ever going over my minutes or meager 200 texts). I was the drain on the family economy, and I was the one that couldn’t live without the email or the Safari, or (now) the Twitterrific App.

My contract is up in March of 2010, and there are some decisions to be made. Can I downgrade? Do I go Blackberry? Will I forever regret the decision to get rid of the I-Phone, should I choose to make it?

There really are no right answers, and luckily AT&T has told me that I can continue to pay them $115 a month until they let me end my contract.

I just think it’s funny that we can evolve and devolve with technology. We can be desperate for it, or all of a sudden decide we don’t need it. Either way, we are forced to make a decision about it. We can rarely just ignore it.

In careers, we are definitely dependent on how we interact with technology – sometimes to even get in the door. How the technology shapes us is definitely important – but I find it even more interesting how we shape it. How do we shut it out, and when? What is deemed necessary to know right now, and what can wait until some other time when we were actually on the computer and had a free moment?

It remains to be seen what I will ultimately decide. Thoughts?

 

Categories: Economics, Technology
  1. Ed
    November 2, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I love technology and am so happy it’s in my life. I have friends all over the country and I love to feel connected to them, which usually happens through my phone. If I want to disconnect, I turn my phone on silent, but not usually off. Seriously, I don’t think I could do the downgrade. I rely too much on my phone for general communication (calls, texts, tweets, emails).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

