Home > Uncategorized > My November Goals

My November Goals

to do list Through Brazen Careerist, I have come across a lot of really wonderful writers, thinkers, and all around cool people who are trying to be innovative in a new Generation Y focused world. They are really a great way for me to express my ideas and get feedback.

Through this community, I came across the Modite blog, where the writer encourages her readers to make goals for themselves for the upcoming month. Through this process, you can see what others are hoping to attain, and as a result, hold yourself accountable for getting things done!

At the end of the month, she discusses her own success, and encourages others to do the same through the comments.

Now, this is my first attempt at participating in the meet-up, but I thought I would give it a shot as I am trying to keep goals at the forefront of my mind.

November’s Goals (until 11/30/09):

1) Run my half marathon and don’t stop running after that! Keep it a part of my daily routine!

2) Continue to blog everyday even on weekends.

3) Plan and book my December trip.

4) Finish 3 books.And review them on the blog.

 

I really like the idea of keeping these “To-Do lists” because I know it is so very easy to talk myself out of doing something. This happens a lot of the time with running or exercising, but I am beginning to like it so much that it is becoming easier. I like the idea of incorporating these goals into my blog, as it is something I am trying to be involved with every single day.

Here’s to accomplishment!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I’m with you in liking how this meet-up holds us accountable! I have a similar goal in writing about what I’ve read, so thought I’d comment and let you know you’re not along there. Looked around your blog a bit, and wanted to compliment you on your well thought out posts. As I’m getting through my last year of undergrad, I’m starting to think more and more about being in the workforce, so your tag line of “figuring out the world and my career” appealed to me. Looking forward to future posts!

    • bethoc
      November 2, 2009 at 11:47 am

      Thanks for the comment Ashley! I hope you also have a chance to look at the reviews and let me know what you think…
      Thanks!

      • November 2, 2009 at 12:02 pm

        I will try! Anymore I don’t really consider myself much of a literary person (few bad class experiences unfortunately contributed to this), but I can attempt in this setting! (No grade, woot!)

  2. November 1, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Found you through Modite. 🙂

    Good luck to you for your goal setting! It’s not easy to blog everyday and even in weekends. But it will be a great thing to do!

    • bethoc
      November 2, 2009 at 11:48 am

      It’s definitely a challenge. I am always tempted to leave my digital world behind…

  3. November 2, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Hey good luck this month! The modite goal meetup folks are really great. I personally love it because not only does it keep me accountable but it also introduces me to great bloggers and blogs, like you and this blog! I’ve got you added to my RSS! 🙂

    • bethoc
      November 2, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      Amazing! Great to “meet” you. 🙂

  4. November 2, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Welcome to meet up! Good luck with the goals, I love that you’re going to consider your blog something that is yours all the time, not just during the work week. I know I am often most inspired on the weekends. Good luck!!

  5. November 2, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I’m back again. Thanks for the comment on my blog! It’s been great to know you. Hope you will be able to blog everyday.

    Back in June 2007, I actually strive to blog 5 posts every day. It was ambitious, but eventually, I was stuck with the writers’ block. That was how I am starting to go out to find out more about blogging. It’s fun! and it’s going to be part of me!

  6. November 3, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Please tell me how you’re running a half marathon – I need the advice! I want to start an excercise habit, but it’s so difficult. Has it helped you to have that end goal in mind?

    Thanks for participating in the meet-up!

    • bethoc
      November 3, 2009 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you so much!! I totally recommend finding a race and just…paying the money to do it! that was definitely an incentive for me. For a long time i had done things like yoga but it just didn’t get my stress out. Running really helped me to do that. Also, I recommend getting some sort of a partner. That also helped.. because they tell you not to run a long race with an ipod, so it can get VERY quiet. I was thinking of devoting more of my blog to running..but wasn’t sure.
      Thoughts?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

