Home > Food > Sustaining Africa….A Lofty Career Goal

Sustaining Africa….A Lofty Career Goal

This past year, I discovered the concept of Slow Food. Headed by the international organization, Slow Food is a concept as well as a methodology. It is essentially the idea that food needs to be savored, sustainabe, and ultimately, enjoyed by many instead of being eaten in a car after having been purchased in a drive-thru.

It was created in Italy in response to the building of a Pizza Hut in Rome. Think of the ludicrous concept. Who does pizza better than Italians? No one. The whole movement was very intriguing to me, and I started reading all sorts of literature on the food movement – both abroad and in the U.S.

It was downright inspiring. I had found an issue that I really cared about, and that many other prominent authors, environmentalists, journalists and chefs were beginning to care about too. It was great inspiration.

Since then, my husband’s and my dream have been to create our own NGO. His home country in Africa would be a great place to start. I have thought about the types of crops we would grow (squash, potatoes, onions, pineapple, broccoli) and about figuring out how to bring heirloom vegetables to the tropics.

I have thought about what seeds I will buy, and what books I will bring to teach me about gardening organically, and what type of environmental education I could bring along the way.

We have even looked into purchasing land to make sure that the project actually happens one day. I would like it to be sooner than later.

As part of my job, I fundraise for a nonprofit – so this should be right up my alley, right?

Kind of.

Practical work has been right up my alley, but giving up on my life here and going full steam ahead into something like this is not. Do I just go, not knowing which ways it can take me? Do I go on a trip and learn more, so that I am more prepared for working in the field?

This year I would like – with the slow network building I am trying to partake in – to start to answer some of these questions. It is really important to me that this dream doesn’t die. It’s a good one, and it’s one I’d like to see through.

Are dreams worth just going for right away? Is there a need for a plan?

Categories: Food
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

